Uninsured Driver Accident Attorneys in Richmond & Tappahannock, VA

Uninsured Driver

There are roughly 7.5 million registered vehicles in Virginia. Most of these vehicles carry some form of auto insurance, which provides coverage in the event the driver causes an accident. But most vehicle owners only purchase the minimum amount of coverage required by law–and some have no insurance at all. So where does that leave accident victims?

In many cases, if you are covered by an auto insurance policy, your insurer must provide compensation. A qualified Richmond hit by uninsured driver lawyer can review your case and advise you of your rights in this area. Attorney Ryan Wind and his team at Wind Law, LLC, have substantial experience in helping accident victims seek compensation following an accident where the negligent driver either lacks insurance or whose identity is not known.

Does Virginia Require Drivers to Carry Insurance?

Carry Insurance

As of early 2023, Virginia is one of only two states that does not technically require all drivers to carry auto insurance. Virginia allows drivers to pay a $500 “uninsured motorist vehicle fee” in lieu of purchasing insurance. This fee does not actually provide any insurance. It simply means the driver is assuming any financial risk should they be involved in an accident. Of course, many drivers lack sufficient personal assets to actually compensate accident victims who suffer serious injuries.

Fortunately, only a relatively small number of vehicles–roughly 5,000 or so–fall under the uninsured motorist vehicle fee. But the problem is that many drivers neither pay the fee nor purchase insurance. And even when a vehicle is insured, it is often for the minimums mandated by Virginia insurance law.

This is where uninsured motorist (UM) coverage comes into play. Virginia law requires all auto insurance policies to include such coverage. As the name suggests, UM coverage provides you with protection if you are hit by a driver who either failed to purchase insurance or whose coverage is not enough to pay for all of your accident-related damages.

The minimum amount of UM coverage is the same as the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law. For policies effective between 2022 and 2024, those minimums are $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and $20,000 in property damage. For policies effective starting in 2025, these minimums are scheduled to increase to $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.

Keep in mind, just because you have uninsured motorist coverage, that is no guarantee your insurer will not put up a legal fight when it comes to paying you after an accident. When it comes to these types of accidents, your insurance company effectively “steps into the shoes” of the uninsured driver, which can lead to an adversarial relationship.

At Wind Law, LLC We Also Representing The Following Legal Services:

Car Accident Resources:

Contact Our Uninsured Driver Accidents Lawyers in Richmond & Tappahannock Today

Many accidents involving uninsured drivers are also “hit and runs,” where the negligent driver flees the scene and is never identified by the victims or law enforcement. Uninsured motorist coverage also provides protection in these situations. But once again, it is in your best interest to work with a skilled Richmond hit by uninsured driver lawyer who can help ensure your insurance company lives up to its legal obligations. Contact our personal injury lawyers in Richmond & Tappahannock at Wind Law, LLC, today if you would like to speak with an attorney right away.